Cee’s Share Your World

I always have trouble figuring out what’s important enough to include on an “about me” page, so instead, I’m going to try participating in Cee’s Share Your World challenge, where every Monday the excellent photography blogger Cee Neuner asks four different personal questions.

What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of?

I can’t pick between two different smells, but they both evoke the same set of memories. Gasoline makes me think of the parking lot tram at Disney, and the smell of water indoors (it’s probably mildew, to tell you the truth) always reminds me of the rides. Weirdly, I’m not the only one who adores mildewy-water-ride-smell.

100_0678

Funny, relevant story: When you walk through the Disney parks, if you keep your eyes on the ground, you’ll see manhole covers marked “gasoline” now and then. I’m assuming they lead to tanks that power the rides, but as a tiny kid, I used to assume there was a big lake of gas running beneath the whole place. Back then, you could smoke anywhere in the parks, and I was horrified at the idea that someone could drop their cigarette in the wrong place and blow us all to pieces!

Name a song or two which are included on the soundtrack to your life?

Ever since I swiped my parents’ copy of Aerosmith’s second album, the song “Seasons of Wither” has been my all-time favorite. It may not be about me, but I couldn’t leave it off my soundtrack.

Picking a second one is harder, but it’s probably one of my loved tracks on last.fm. Or maybe I should pay some homage to who I was around age fourteen and count what I considered to be my theme song around then. Such cheery lyrics, right?

Do you play video/computer game?  Which one(s) or most recent? 

I’ve been a casual gamer since the day my dad brought out his old NES to show the family. (Honestly, though, I was too nervous to pick up the controller for a couple weeks.) You had to stick a rag into the console along with the game cartridge to get it to work, but I think that thing even outlasted our first PlayStation.

In the future, on Tuesdays, I’m toying with the idea of posting about the games I play and the fandoms surrounding them. I love the Silent Hill series with all my heart, and I couldn’t be more excited for the sequel everyone’s talking about. I also play World of Warcraft nearly every day, and there’s a lot to say about the community surrounding any MMO, let alone one that has gone a long way to help me figure out who I am.

Which of Snow White’s 7 dwarfs describes you best?  Plus what would the 8th dwarf’s name be?

The more I draw on memories to come up with blog posts, the more I realize I’m an absolute Disney nerd at heart. Maybe it was inevitable after growing up in Florida. (And on that note, if the characters lived anywhere around here, the eighth would be Sweaty). Anyway, I’d have to be Sleepy. I don’t know anyone else who can literally sleep for twelve hours straight if no one interrupts.

Fond as I am of Disney, sometimes I do look back at the older films and wonder what they were thinking!? Dwarves are a fantasy staple, and they turn up in plenty of media I love (see above), but I do get tired of seeing them portrayed as a separate race from humans, or as comic relief. Even some of the actors who play them feel the same.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I picked up my blogging pace last week and I’m grateful that it helped me get to know some wonderful new people, most notably Kiran and others who I met through them. This week, my partner’s birthday is coming up! We’re not big on celebrating, but I’m looking forward to a peaceful evening together at home.

One thought on “Cee’s Share Your World

Leave a Reply

